h1

Why can’t I sleep at night???

February 21, 2011

Today was not only a long day but exhausting as well. Yet, I lay here now with the clock inching its way closer to 10:30 p.m. and yet I am still wide awake. Sure, if I put down my laptop and closed my eyes I probably could sleep but then thousands of thoughts would still be racing through my head. I would be lying in my bed thinking about how the laundry isn’t finished or how I need to take my dogs to the vet or how my bf has been sick all day and I haven’t been able to really help him feel better. Why is it when we want our minds to turn off, we can’t? I often wonder this late at night when I should be “winding” down and shutting my mind off. Yet, my mind is still racing and going and thinking of all the stupid little things I need to do. I mean honestly who cares if one of the dishes was left in the sink at night or if my dogs haven’t had their vaccinations yet? Apparently, I’m the only one who cares about these petty little details and they tend to keep me up at night worrying about them. Sometimes I even have anxiety over it. Yet I still prevail and in the morning when I’m supposed to be energized and ready to go I am completely exhausted from the night before and have a hundred thoughts running through my head. So I guess the question is, is there something wrong with me? Should I be examined by a doctor? Ok, maybe I’m exaggerating but you know what I mean. Why can’t we shut our minds off sometimes? What is so difficult about that? So as I lay here in bed typing this blog I try to remind myself that not all of my dumb little tasks are going to be accomplished today. I tried my best and that is all I can do. I think that’s what we have to remind ourselves. We did our best so that’s all we can do and as a woman I know we are especially hard on ourselves;  so if you are like me and laying in bed at night and can’t sleep then tell yourself that. You did what you could and there is always tomorrow.

5 comments

  1. Amber, I’ve had this problem for the longest time. Usually, it’s off and on though. I’ll go weeks sleeping great and then there will be a few days in a row where I just can’t fall asleep. Most of the time, there’s nothing significant on my mind, and I just can’t figured it out. It got so bad one time that I gave myself anxiety throughout the day because I was worried I wasn’t going to be able to sleep that night. One thing I will advise, don’t start taking night time sleep aids, Tylenol PM, or things like Ambien. They work for about 2 or 3 nights and then it gets worse than before. Good luck to you.


  2. Thanks for the response Eric, ya I def. don’t think I’m going use anything like sleep aids, haha.


  3. Amber, I know exactly what you mean! And people always say, “clear your mind- it’ll help.” but that’s my biggest problem.

    I started taking melatonin. You can find it in the vitamin isle of walmart, walgreens, etc. It’s a natural chemical our body produces to help us fall asleep and some people don’t produce sufficient amounts.

    Research it before you take it- I only take 2 miligrams, but I know some people who take 6. It’s not addictive, and it specifically helps for those who simply have a hard time falling asleep. I have had such a good experience with it that I love sharing the info!

    Ashley
    AshleyCray.wordpress.com


    • Oh also, it isn’t something I take regularly. Just those horrible nights wherei can’t seem to fall asleep no matter how tired I am (I didn’t want to give the impression I take this nightly!).


    • Thanks for the tip Ashley. I’ll try it sometime.



Leave a Reply

