h1

Top 50 Most Powerful Women in Business…Who Knew.

February 27, 2011

After writing my last blog, I got to thinking about whether there are a lot of women in top CEO positions. My findings surprised me to say the least. Turns out companies like Pepsi Co., Xerox, Avon, Kraft, and many others are all run by women. Now, to be honest, I was like most people and thought the top ranking woman CEO in the nation was Oprah.  I mean come on we all think of Oprah when we think of top leaders in the world. Yet, it wasn’t Oprah who showed up as number one on Forbes list of the Top 50 Most Powerful Women in Business. In fact it was a woman I had never heard of.  The number one most powerful woman in business was in fact Indra Nooyi. She is the Chairman and CEO of PepsiCo. Oprah was actually number 6 on the list. So I ask myself, how did I not know this? How did I not know who half of these women were on this list? Well I think in general these women aren’t in the news everyday. They aren’t celebrities. Oprah is the closest we have to a celebrity amongst the list. So in general, I don’t think we really hear about them. Yet, how wonderful is it to find out such large companies are indeed run by women. To me this shows we are evolving and moving in the right direction. We actually have women who are powerhouses and changing the world. So next time your thinking that things are still not changing for women, just note that they are and these women are leading the way. Please feel free to leave me your comments.

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

