h1

Is Communication the Key?

March 16, 2011

Is communication the key? I was wondering this recently after talking with my boyfriend one night. I realized more often than not I will be listening to people or vice versa and I swear half of what is said is not really heard. I believe that communication is a huge problem in so many relationships and businesses. People say things and either they are not heard or people aren’t listening and then when it comes time to find out what is happening, no one knows. At my work there is always a huge break-down of communication. Whether it comes from myself or others, there seems to always be some type of break-down in communication. Yet, if communication is essentially free, why do we all seem to be so bad at it?

I really try my best to communicate well with others and get my point across. However, I know I am not perfect at it and there are times when I struggle to say or get to my point. Sometimes, I will just ramble on about something before even arriving to the point that I am trying to make. I know it is something I need to work on but I try my best to listen.

So why is that we have such a hard time communicating with one another? Is it simply the fact that we are bad at listening? Or is it that we just don’t care sometimes about what others are saying? I don’t know, I would assume that it might be a combination of both but it is hard to say what the ultimate truth is. So, I leave you with the same question as I asked at first, is communication the key? I am not sure, but me must try and get better at communicating with one another.

6 comments

  1. I believe that communication is the key to healthy relationships. It is easy for us to speak to one another but it is not easy to listen. I think if we took the time to actually listen to what other people are saying we would be better at communication.


    • Thanks Jessica for the comments, greatly appreciated! -Amber


  2. Communication is most certainly the key in every area of our lives, Amber. The fact that you are focusing your attention on it’s importance is the first step to better communication.

    Last night, I attended a presentation where the speaker, Kym Yancey, President of eWomen Network, Inc. shared the following quotation that many of us are familiar with, but most struggle to apply in our exchanges with others:

    “We have two ears and one mouth so that we can listen twice as much as we speak.” ~ Epictetus

    Really listening to what others are sharing in their communications with us can lead to much more meaningful, powerful connecting. I made a post on my blog about a recent experience that my daughter and her fiance had in regards to communication, titled “The Gift of Being Heard” I think you might enjoy it.

    http://teleraacklmt.wordpress.com/2011/02/23/the-gift-of-being-heard/


    • Thanks Tele, I appreciate the input! -Amber


  3. Great blog Amber! The problem I face with communication is all the outside distractions. There is so much going on around us that my filter is constantly on, so when I really want to communicate I forget to put it down & miss so much! Thanks for reminding me how important I do.

    Thank you,
    Patricia Knight
    http://patriciaknight.wordpress.com/


    • Thanks Patricia, I’m glad I could remind you of that. -Amber



Leave a Reply

