h1

Are you a Jealous Person?

March 23, 2011

What is jealousy? According to Wikipedia.org, ” Jealousy is a secondary emotion and typically refers to the negative thoughts and feelings of insecurity, fear, and anxiety over an anticipated loss of something that the person values, particularly in reference to a human connection. Jealousy often consists of a combination of presenting emotions such as anger, sadness, and disgust. It is not to be confused with envy.”

Jealousy I believe is an emotion that most of us have felt or even feel right now. I know I have felt jealous before. Generally, it has been over someone or something. I don’t want to feel jealous ever but every once in a while it creeps up on me. When I have felt jealous of someone or something, I wonder often why am I feeling this way? What is making me feel these emotions? I then start to wonder if it has to do with self-esteem and if perhaps I am lacking a little in that department. Yet, like I said in another blog, I doubt it is that. I am a pretty confident person and I know I have a lot to offer to the world. Then I wonder, maybe it’s just human nature? Maybe we can’t control whether we feel jealous or not. Perhaps it is just one of those things that just happens, kind of like an instinct.

So is jealousy good or bad? Does it really matter whether it is good or bad? I’m sure there are examples where jealousy has gotten to such an intense level that it has created problems in people’s lives. Then there are people like me who just feel  the occasional pull of jealousy.  So can we say jealousy is a healthy emotion or just something that comes up when we are feeling insecure? Tell me your thoughts on jealousy and why you think we feel this way.

Photo Credit

2 comments

  1. Amber-
    I think it’s completely normal and rational to feel pangs of jealousy occasionally. I don’t think anyone wants or likes to feel that way, but it’s normal. It can be bad if it causes us to become irrational and self-loathing, but a healthy does of envy can be good. It can encourage us to work harder towards what we want to attain. When we see what others have, and what we want, it makes it real and achievable and encourages us strive to have and accomplish those things too.


    • Thanks Kelley for the comments. Much appreciated!



Leave a Reply

