h1

Do we Need Energy Drinks?

March 23, 2011

So recently I started drinking energy drinks. I got into them because my boyfriend was drinking them all the time and I figured why not have one too? I can’t drink the ones with carbonation but the non-carbonated ones aren’t too bad. So I started having about one a day and each time they seemed to do the trick. I am usually the kind of person who has low-energy so having an energy drink once a day seemed to really help with my energy level. However, after a few weeks of having them I noticed I was getting stomach aches. So lately, I have slowed down and maybe only have one every few days. So why am I going on about drinking energy drinks? Well lately, I’ve been thinking I can’t be the only one with this lack of energy.  I mean it’s not that I feel this need to sleep 24/7 but there are times during the day in which I get kind of sleepy. I eat a fairly healthy diet and I am also fairly active. However, this doesn’t really seem to help. It’s not that I have to rely on energy drinks or caffeine for a pick me up everyday but sometimes it really helps. So if I’m not the only one who is having a lack of energy in the day, why is this? I know I can’t be the only one out there with this problem because otherwise we wouldn’t have a such thing as an energy drink.  So why are we all lacking energy? Is it because of stress? Are we all trying to do too much at once? Or is it simply because we have poor diets and are lacking the essential vitamins and minerals that we need in order to function properly? I don’t know it could be due to a variety of reasons.

I think in my case I lack energy due to several reasons. I think stress really affects my body. I’m not exactly one of those people who deals with stress super well.  I handle stress for the most part and usually no one knows I am, but internally I can feel it. I get constant headaches from clenching my jaw all the time, I usually am eating Tums because my stomach hurts so often and I’m tired a lot. I also think that I lack energy because even though my diet is pretty good, I’m sure I could always do better.

So the bottom line is this, why are we so tired? Why do we even need energy drinks or coffee to get us through our days? I know people didn’t have energy drinks forever, so what got people through the day before? If you know of anything else that you use for a pick me up that isn’t an energy drink or coffee, then please let me know. Also, let me know if you think energy drinks are good or bad and why? Tell me what gets you through your day and keeps you going. Thanks!

 

Photo Credit

2 comments

  1. Amber I’m addicted to these things. Occasionally I get that rush of energy that makes me think I can accomplish anything that day but most time I just feel mildly distracted and nauseous. I think exercise is the best way to “wake-up”. As little as 20 minutes of cardio gives me a charge for the rest of the day.
    Thanks,
    Matt


    • Thanks for the comment Matt, I agree about the exercise, but never seem to find the time. Thanks!



Leave a Reply

