h1

Why are we trying to “Keep up with the Jonses?”

April 18, 2011

Gratitude is an interesting topic. As I sit here at 11pm at night I wonder what I am grateful for. I’m grateful for many things. I’m grateful for my boyfriend, family,  friends, my dogs, school, my health, the list just keeps going on. Yet more often than not I find myself thinking about the things I want and desire, as if my life isn’t good enough already, I still want more. Is this normal to feel this way? Is it ok to want more when you already have so much? I have a good life, don’t get me wrong. I have a boyfriend who has my back no matter what, great friends, I get to go to school and I have a good job, but why do I still feel the need for more when I have almost everything I want? Am I just not grateful enough for what I have or am I always just comparing myself to others?

I think a lot of my feelings and others is that we all have this belief that we got to “Keep up with the Jonses” sort of speak. I think especially here in the United States we all have this misconception that we always need more, that our lives aren’t enough as is. Just look at people and their cars. So is this a problem of not having enough gratitude for what we have or just this idea of being fooled into thinking we always need more. Truthfully, I don’t really know the answer. It’s kind of similar to the age old question of did the chicken come first or the egg. Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

